1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Trace Elliot GP7 SM300 (info? ohmage?)

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by SoComSurfing, Jul 2, 2003.

  1. SoComSurfing

    SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently acquired a Trace GP7 SM300, and have had a difficult time finding any info on this model over the past two weeks. Is there anyone here who is familiar with this amp, and has any suggestions on it?
    Also, on the back, it's got two outputs, each labeled for an 8ohm load. Is there a way to run a 4ohm cab from it? I plan on running an 8ohm 2x10 from one output, and an 8ohm 1x15 from the other, but if the event came up that I wanted to use a single 4ohm cab, would I be able to?
    Thanks.
  2. masaru

    masaru

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's probably the AH300-7. In any case, go to www.traceelliott.com and click on the 2002 website link at the bottom of the page. Download the manual and the rest should be a no brainer.
  3. zoran

    zoran

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you use both outputs for 8ohm cabs this will give you 4ohms (parallel). 4ohm cab can be plugged in each output, no problem. It is good and loud head, mine was without dual compressor which is used on newer models.
  4. SoComSurfing

    SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it might be the AH, too, from the looks of it, but no where on the amp does is say "AH 300". Is this just a quirk of Trace, or do I have some freak, mis-labeled amp?
    So if I want to use a single 4ohm cab, I just plug it into one of the outputs, and everything's good?
    Thanks for the replies.
  5. Johnny BoomBoom

    Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0

    Cut and pasted from the Trace Elliot downloadable manual :-

    SPEAKER OUTPUTS
    The 7-BAND range consists of two amplifier heads, AH150 and AH300, and three
    combos, the 7210H, 7215 and 715. All have the same 7-BAND pre-amplifier.
    AH150-7 and AH300-7.
    The AH150-7 produces a minimum of 150Watts RMS power into a 4-Ohm load and the
    AH300-7 produces a minimum of 300Watts RMS power into a 4-Ohm load. On both
    amplifier heads there are two speaker output jack sockets provided, allowing two speaker
    cabinets to be connected. The combined impedance of these speaker cabinets must not
    be less than 4 Ohms. Two 8-Ohm cabinets is the ideal load for these amplifiers. It is good
    practice to use both outputs for two cabinets rather than ‘daisy-chaining’ them as it
    minimises the current required at the jacks and by the cable used.
    If you are using one 4-Ohm cabinet, then no further speakers can be connected to
    the amplifier or the combined impedance will fall below 4 Ohms. If this occurs you will
    just be wasting power in heat generated by the output stage and no more volume will be
    available than with the single 4 Ohm cabinet.



    Hope this helps!
  6. JMX

    JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick reminder:

    The term ohmage does not exist, it's either impedance (for AC circuits) or resistance (DC circuits).
  7. SoComSurfing

    SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Johnny - Thanks, I was just about to DL that, but decided to check back in here, first. :)
    JMX - Thanks for the reminder, but c'mon, "ohmage" is just such a fun word to say! Say it with me now, "ohmage". Again, "ohmage". There, now don't you feel better? ;)

Share This Page